

Caucus Beaufort County, SC

This meeting was held both in person in Council Chambers at 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, and virtually through Zoom.

Monday, September 13, 2021

5:00 PM

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

Council Chairman Passiment called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM

PRESENT

Chairman Joseph F. Passiment Vice Chairman D. Paul Sommerville Council Member Logan Cunningham Council Member Gerald Dawson Council Member Brian Flewelling Council Member Stu Rodman Council Member Alice Howard Council Member Mark Lawson Council Member Lawrence McElynn

ABSENT

Council Member York Glover Council Member Chris Hervochon

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Council Member Dawson led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. <u>FOIA</u>

Chairman Passiment noted that the Public Notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.

4. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion to Amend: It was moved by Council Member Cunningham, seconded by Council Member Flewelling to add a Citizens Comment to the Caucus agenda. The motion was approved without objection. **Motion:** <u>It was moved by Council Member Flewelling, seconded by Council Member Cunningham to</u> <u>approve the amended agenda. The motion was approved without objection.</u>

Citizens Comment

Eddy Gugino spoke regarding censorship

Barbara States spoke regarding censorship

5. AGENDA REVIEW

Chairman Passiment stated item # 18 will be done in two parts. There will be a motion for the statement and the second part of the motion is to move the matter to Natural Resources Committee.

6. COUNCIL MEMBER DISCUSSION

Discussion: To see the full discussion click the link below.

https://beaufortcountysc.new.swagit.com/videos/139412

7. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: It was moved by Council Member Rodman, seconded by Council Member Howard to go into Executive Session. The motion was approved without objection.

8. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:43 PM.

COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY

BY:

Joseph F. Passiment, Jr., Chairman

ATTEST:

Sarah W. Brock, Clerk to Council Ratified: